Leave a comment

Mental Illness and Compassion

Flowers

If you know someone with a mental illness, compassion will go a long way!

I remember when one of my roommates and I were both sick with a nasty respiratory bug. We took turns hacking up our lungs and blowing our noses, and then passing out on couches in the living room from exhaustion. A huge ray of sunshine in that week was when one of our friends went shopping for us, getting chicken soup and juice, and a vase of beautiful flowers. Those flowers were such a kind gesture, and I was more grateful for them than for the soup! They brightened my spirits even though they couldn’t fight the antigens in my body. In the case of mental illness, the illness is not only present but a false stigma surrounds it that makes its victims feel abnormal, pathetic, and ashamed. Regardless of your personal opinion, that someone needs your compassion. To not feel alone. To not feel so ostracized. Direction will be needed to manage the healing process and will come eventually, but love heals. Don’t be afraid to show it!!

Leave a comment