3 Comments

Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

I work as a prep cook in an assisted living home, and days like today make it worthwhile. There’s a resident who seems to be in the beginning stage of dementia and gets confused often-forgetting where she lives, what floor she is on, walking aimlessly around. I only saw her as the sweet confused lady. The other residents talk about her and some are directly rude to her. You would think they’d be wiser at their age… At any rate she is known as that resident.

After I clocked out for the day she asked for my help in finding her room. She invited me in afterwards and started telling me about her life. She had pictures on her wall of tribes in Papua New Guinea,which I learned, is where she spent five years as a medical surgeon while simultaneously teaching the Bible to those who wanted to hear it. She pointed out children she knew and their medical conditions , tribal leaders, and renowned head-hunters (exactly what it says) like it was no big deal. She also showed me a painting of her husband, also a doctor, who treated the son of his portrait’s painter with no charge. Apparently that painter has artwork in some pretty cool places.

I was blown away by what I learned about her. Just as much, I was blown away by what a BEAUTIFUL and intelligent person she is. I was humbled to have the privilege of  hearing her talk about her life, to see snippets of her life, and to see her comfortably be herself. While she may still be confused about what 008floor she’s on, that’s not her. She is an extraordinary person with an extraordinary life worthy of the utmost respect. I look forward to getting to know her more. 🙂 And I guess the lessons from this are:

  • Don’t judge a book by its cover.
  • Everyone has a story. Respect that.
  • Think of the life lived in each person you meet.

3 comments on “Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

  1. One of the biggest pet peeves at the assisted living place I live! Other caregivers who treat the residents the way your woman gets treated. It is so unprofessional! I get so frustrated by this because I am one of the only ones at my facility that treat the residents with actual respect. I’ve only been there since October and I hope I never get the way the other caregivers are. Once a person gets to that point, they need to move on.

    Sorry, I’ll get off my soap box now. I am glad you got to spend time with this lovely woman.

    Devin

    Like

    • Devin, I would completely agree with you. How wonderful would it be if all the people in such a profession would WANT to be in that field? It’s like teachers who don’t like kids…it doesn’t go well. I bet the residents really appreciate how you treat them. 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you! Most of the resident’s really appreciate me and tell me so. It’s really cool when I can make them laugh or give them a hug and see the look on their face. Every morning a few of the residents goes down to the dining room extra early and I’ll go into say hi and joke with them. On multiple occasions when I’ve walking out, I’ve heard them comment about how much they really like me. It makes me feel really good. I think part of it at least for me, is that I am an empath, where a lot of the other workers aren’t. So they don’t see or understand things the way I do. I try to be understanding of that, but it still gets really frustrating.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment